Online Jewelry Store Sale: 10% Off Select Jewelry & Complimentary Shipping
Our story begins in Convent Garden, London, November 28, 1730, when Peter Parquot, a young French descendant, started his apprenticeship as a jouaillier (high jeweler) with Andrew Mayaffre.
In 1738, Peter married Susanna Patras de Maillefaud, a granddaughter of Jean Jacques de Maillefaud, a Counselor to King Louis XIV, and with the sum of 800 British pounds bequeathed to him on 9 June 1743 by Jean, the brother of Susanna, he financed his first store in 1744 on King Street, facing Nassau Street, in St. Ann's, London.
In 1744, Eagle & Pearl produced jewelry in house for noble exiles from France and accepted purchases on credit, but later moved to accept both credit and cash, and in the 1750's priced jewelry with fixed prices, a practice first introduced in 1750 by Palmer's of London Bridge.
Pierre was known to have created a ring with a large brilliant diamond named the Maillefaud ring, and in the 1761 will of his wife Susanna she bequeaths a ring as described, along with several others, to her daughter Susanna, and to another a collection of rings, one described as emerald with four brilliant diamonds. All of significant historic value to the company.
In 1760, an Eagle & Pearl store is opened in Tavistock Street, Convent Garden, London, which was operated by jeweler William Park Fisher.
In 1772, an Eagle & Pearl store was opened at No. 9, Eagle and Pearl, opposite Brook Street in Holborn, London, which was operated until 1802 by Jewellers Richard and Letitia Clarke, and between 1790 and 1793, a relative of Richard, M. Clarke, is a jeweler at the same address
1802 - 2002:
Eagle & Pearl operated locally in London, U.K. In Russia watches set with gems were fashionable among the royalty and the wealthy. The Kremlin Museum has a number of them, including a gem-set watch by Peter Parquot, made probably in a Dresden workshop, with rock crystal and enamel case from the Cabinet of Tsar Nicolas II of Russia (Inv. M3-4143).
2002 - 2005:
The current owners inherited Eagle & Pearl and in 2002 purchased a 10 year lease on a retail space in Lincoln, U.K. After extensive renovations to the Lincoln property, the lease for the property was sold and the company became an online retailer.
2005 - Present:
Eagle & Pearl has remained a family owned business since its founding and the current co-owner is Peter's 6th great grandson, who moved the business from the U.K. to the U.S in 2005, moving away from traditional brick and mortar stores to online retail. At present, Eagle & Pearl operates only in the United States and imports and sells jewelry made by designers, such as Clogau and Kit Heath, from the United Kingdom.
The picture above is of an original Peter Parquot trade card for the Eagle and Pearl store in King Street, St. Ann's, London, dated 1744. It is written in English and his native French.